States of Guernsey


About States of Guernsey

The Bailiwick of Guernsey is made up of four islands: Guernsey, Herm, Sark and Alderney.

Education in Guernsey comprises of 11 primary schools, four secondary schools, and three special schools which offer education to the Island’s young people who require additional support.

There is a primary and secondary school in Alderney (St Anne’s) and a primary school in Herm, which currently has 10 pupils. There is also a primary and secondary school in Sark, but the States of Guernsey does not have responsibility for this. In addition there are three private schools in Guernsey - Elizabeth College, Ladies College and Blanchelande College - which offer both primary and secondary education.

The Education System in Guernsey is currently going through an exciting period of transformation. This is the largest, boldest and most dynamic change the public education system has seen in recent years but will enable all secondary students to have the widest possible range of curricular and extra-curricular opportunities. 

In January this year, the States of Guernsey agreed substantial reforms of secondary and post-16 education. This will see the four existing secondary schools replaced by two 11 to 18 colleges, forming one organisation (one school). The two colleges will be based at the current St Sampson’s and Les Beaucamps sites. 

The post-16 phase will provide a single sixth form operating across the two colleges, allowing for a broad range of subject choices. Technical, professional and vocational studies will be part of a single, integrated organisation.


Address: Sir Charles Frossard House, La Charroterie, St Peter Port, GY1 1FH, Guernsey
Telephone: +44 1481 717000
Positions available at States of Guernsey