Skip to main content

The all-time physics hero

Sir Joseph Swan, inventor of the first practical light bulb, has been named British physics hero of all time by the Institute of Physics. Members produced a top 10 list of physicists to promote activities it will be holding in 2005, which is both Einstein year and world year of physics.

Sir Joseph was followed on the list by Sir Edward Appleton, Sir Isaac Newton, Michael Faraday, Paul Dirac, John Flamstead, William Robert Grove, Sir Ernest Rutherford, John Dalton and James Clerk Maxwell.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you