Skip to main content

Birthday Honours List - Awards for services to education


Bob Salisbury, head of Garibaldi School, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire.


Helen Metcalf, head of Chiswick Community School, Hounslow.

Lorna Boreland Kelly, chair of governors at Lambeth College.

Order of the Bath.

Nicholas Sanders, director of School Curriculum Funding and Teachers, Department for Education and Employment.


Linda Ammon, divisional manager at Choice and Careers Division, DFEE.

Stephen Colling, head at Bowland High School, Lancashire.

Ann Hubbard, chemistry teacher at Reigate College, Surrey.

Chris Humphries, chief executive at the Training and Enterprise National Council.

John Leighfield, chairman of the Alliance of Information System Skills Group - services to training.

Bruce Malone, head at St Andrew's Secondary School, Glasgow.

Kevin McAleese, headteacher at Harrogate Grammar School, North Yorkshire.

William McCosh, chairman of the Guidline Careers and Guidance Services Ltd.

Brigid Beattie-Moriarty, head of Burntwood Girls' School, Wandsworth.

Rudolf Plaut, chairman of Techniquest - services to education and science.

John Williams, head at Pen-y-Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil, south Wales.


Kay Andrews, director, Education Extra - services to extra-curricular education.

Professor Brian Arnold, head of school of science education, Northern College, Aberdeen.

Gaynor Bevan, head at Glasbury-on-Wyre primary school, Hereford.

Egbert Carless. chair of Corporation, Handsworth College Group.

Sandra Davies, headteacher at Ogmore Comprehensive School in south Wales.

Peter Downes, education consultant and former president of Secondary Heads' Assocation.

Geoffrey Duncan - services to the Board of Education of the General Synod of the Church of England.

Judy Edwards, head of Grove Park Special School, Brent.

Susan Fey - services to Business Links in London.

Peter Fletcher, head at Easingwold School, North Yorkshire.

Aileen Graham - services to education.

John Hill - services to further and higher education.

Grainne McCafferty - services to secondary education.

Thomas McGrenary, principal at Cumbernauld College.

John McManus, head at the Tyldesley Highfield School, Wigan.

Richard Nosowski, head at Backwell School, North Somerset.

John Saunders, chief executive, Business Link in Hereford and Worcester.

Alastair Struthers, head at Lochend Secondary School, Easterhouse, Glasgow.

Rosemary Weir - services to secondary education.


Betty Addison. Servicea to guiding and children with special needs in Catterick, North Yorkshire.

Shirley Allchin, honours secretary at the DFEE.

David Allen - services to trade unionism and education.

Elizabeth Allison, school secretary at St Columbia's Junior School, Kilmacolm.

Doreen Black - services to the playgroup movement.

Helen Ruth, Dundee City Council school crossing patrol attendant.

Kathleen Clay, Birmingham City Council school crossing patrol.

Catherine Connolly - services to the catering industry and to vocational education.

Joseph Corbett - services to young people, especialy through the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme.

John Cottee, Russell Youth Club, Sneinton, Nottingham.

Florence Coyle, Edge Hill Youth Club, Liverpool. Elspeth Crawford - services to guiding in Ayr.

Dorothy Creer - services to guiding and to disabled children in Ormskirk, Lancashire.

Elaine Davies - services in pre-school education in Ebbw Vale, Blaenau, Gwent.

Michael Davis, principal education welfare officer, Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council.

Sheila Dillon, domestic bursar, Newman College, Birmingham.

Edith Duncan,-services to dance.

Anthony Eden - services to young people.

The Rev John Ellis, Shalom Youth Project, New Clee, Grimsby.

Kathleen English - services to road safety.

Archie Evans - services to school sport in Cumbria.

Raymond Featherstone - services to young people in Sheerness, Kent.

Ann Garrood - services to the community, especially young people in Pershore, Worcestershire.

Johanna Gartland, sister at Woodfield Nursery, Oldham.

Wilma Gillanders - for services to drug education and social responsibility.

Buddy Gomes, head at Lyon Park Junior School, Wembley, Brent.

Hazel Goodwin - services to the safety and care of profoundly disabled children in Horsham, West Sussex.

May Steele-Chesney Graham, - services to the school meals service.

Marie Hendy, administrative officer at the DFEE.

Martin Igoe, senior training adviser at the DFEE.

James Jayne, youth development manager at Cadbury Ltd.

Ahmed Khan, most recently head at Charnwood Primary School, Leicester.

Samuel King, for services to the Caribbean community, Southwark, London, especially education and health.

Barbara Large, most recently education co-ordinator at HM Prison Haslar.

George Macartney - services to the community and to education.

Sister Susan McClory - services to the care of children with special needs.

Jack Mitchel, Bradford Junior Attendance Centre.

John O'Brien, head at Cadle Primary School, Fforestfach, Swansea, South Wales.

Winfred Peddle - services to young people in Berkshire.

Ogwyn Phillips, head at Cynlais Country Primary School, Swansea, South Wales.

Juliet Pierce - services to curriculum development and further education in Wales.

Margaret Richardson, school crossing patroll for North Yorkshire County Council.

William Richardson, principal teacher of mathematics at Elgin Academy.

Kenneth Ridge - services to the community, especially the Dame Hannah Rogers School, Ivybridge, Devon.

June Rogers, special school nurse adviser.

John Seaman - services to local government, especialy education, in Cambridgeshire.

Dawn Shakespeare, school crossing patrol for Warwickshire County Council.

Colin Shock - services to law and order and education in Nottinghamshire.

Winifred Shoesmith, Northgate House School, Chichester, West Sussex.

Josephine Spanswick, most recently governor at Notre Dame School, Southwark.

Brigitte Sweeney, most recently head at St Agatha's RC Primary School, Leven, Fife.

Elizabeth Thomson. Lochwood Church Playgroup, Glasgow.

Brian Tierney - services to the Construction Training Board.

Nancy Todd, Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme Open Award Centre, in Rochdale, Lancashire.

Irvin Veitch - services to people with learning difficulties in Eastbourne, East Sussex.

Neil Walsh, head at Fairfield CE-aided Primary School, Warrington, Cheshire.

David Whatmuff, South and East Cheshire Education and Business Partnership.

Catherine Wilson, manager at Schools and Colleges Education Institute of Physics.

Pamela Wilson, teacher at Lowercroft County Primary School, Bury, Lancashire.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you