Skip to main content

Children's Books

Book Trust has announced the shortlist for the Smarties Award.

0 - 5:

Tattybogle by Sandra Horn and Ken Brown, The Tooth Fairy by Peter Collington, A Song for Little Toad by Vivian French and Barbara Firth, The Little Boat by Kathy Henderson and Patrick Benson, The Last Noo-Noo by Jill Murphy and Prowlpuss by Gina Wilson and David Parkin.

6 - 8:

Peter's Place by Sally Grindley and Michael Foreman. Give Yourself a Hug by Grace Nichols, The Magic Fountain by Roger McGough and Philip Hopman, The Do- -It-Yourself House that Jack Built by John Yeoman and Quentin Blake, Thomas and the Tinners by Jill Paton Walsh and Alan Marks and The Giant's Boot by Charles Ashton.

9 - 11:

Double Act by Jacqueline Wilson, Ghost Dance by Susan Price, Dog Friday by Hilary McKay, The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo, No Turning Back by Beverley Naidoo and Weather Eye by Lesley Howarth. The category winners will be announced on November 16, together with the overall winner, to be selected by Year 6 pupils from Burscough County Primary School, Lancashire.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you