Skip to main content

Children's choice

The post of Children's Laureate was invented by Michael Morpurgo and Ted Hughes, and is sponsored by Waterstone's booksellers

Children's Laureates

* Quentin Blake 1999-2001

* Anne Fine 2001-2003

* Michael Morpurgo takes over this week for two years

Who decides?

Children are invited by Waterstone's to nominate writers and illustrators.

Interested bodies such as the International Board for Books for Young People, the Federation of Children's Book Groups and librarians' groups are consulted and a final decision made by a panel of expert judges under the chairmanship of a well-known figure, this year the editor of Private Eye, Ian Hislop.


Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you