In honour of hard work and devotion

The shortlist for this year's TES Schools Awards recognises the creativity, teamwork and leadership taking place across Britain

The outstanding schools and inspirational teachers who have made the shortlist for the sixth TES Schools Awards are revealed today. The awards attracted entries from around Britain that demonstrate the hard work, professionalism and imagination of the teams working in schools.

Ann Mroz, editor of TES, said: "Those shortlisted have all made a fantastic impact on the pupils and communities they serve, and they are only a few of the thousands of staff in our schools who teach, support and inspire students every day. It is a great pleasure to run this awards ceremony and reward some of the many dedicated people whose work ensures young people in this country get the best possible start in life."

Last year, George Eliot Primary School in north-west London was named overall school of the year. "It was amazing," headteacher Beatrix Simpson said. "We were extremely proud of our achievement and it resulted in our community being more positive.

"We even had families from Singapore and Japan who were moving here for jobs, googling schools and coming up with our name. Then they called us to see if we had places."

Eastbury Comprehensive School in Barking won last year's Literacy and English Award (pictured). Head of English Louise Hooper said: "It was nice to have the opportunity to pause and celebrate what we've done well and congratulate the staff."

The winners will be announced on 4 July at a ceremony at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge, London.

The shortlist

Primary school of the year

Barnehurst Infant School, Kent

Prince Rock Primary School, Plymouth

Ryecroft Primary Academy, Bradford

St Mary's Church of England Primary School, Manchester

The Park Junior School, Mansfield, Nottinghamshire

Vauxhall Primary School, London

Secondary school of the year

Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Eastbury Comprehensive School, Barking, London

St John Bosco Arts College, Liverpool

St Ninian's High School, Glasgow

Treviglas Community College, Newquay, Cornwall

Trinity High School and Sixth Form Centre, Worcestershire

Special needs school of the year

Belmont School, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Danecourt Community School, Gillingham, Kent

Falkland House School, Fife

Longdon Hall School, Longdon Green, Staffordshire

Longford Park School, Stretford, Manchester

West Kirby Residential School, Wirral

Overall 2014 school of the year

This award will be given to one of the winners of the primary, secondary and special needs school of the year awards. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony on Friday 4 July

Headteacher of the year

Dr Mujahid Ali, Mount Pleasant Primary School, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Jayne Clarke, Ryecroft Primary Academy, Bradford

Guy Shears, RSA Academy Arrow Vale, Redditch, Worcestershire

Beatrix Simpson, George Eliot Primary School, St John's Wood, London

Neil Strowger, Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Josephine Venn, Balshaw's Church of England High School, Leyland, Lancashire

Inspirational teacher of the year

Grace Eardley, Congleton High School, Cheshire

Hayley Francis, Ark Oval Primary Academy, Croydon, London

Rafael Hernandez, Woolwich Polytechnic School for Boys, London

Aileen Mullen, Donaldson's School, Linlithgow, West Lothian

Andrew Oliver, Pallister Park Primary School, Middlesbrough

Jane Westlake, Kilgarth School, Birkenhead, Wirral

Enterprise and community

Bowdon Church of England Primary School, Cheshire

Cadoxton Primary School, Barry, Vale of Glamorgan

Eastlands Primary School, Rugby, Warwickshire

Manchester Academy, Moss Side, Manchester

St Joseph's Specialist School and College, Cranleigh, Surrey

Treviglas Community College, Newquay, Cornwall

Numeracy and maths

Ark Atwood Primary Academy, Westminster, London

Elmfield Rudolf Steiner School, Stourbridge, West Midlands

St Ambrose Barlow Roman Catholic High School, Swinton, Salford

The Aylesbury Vale Academy, Buckinghamshire


Felsted Preparatory School, Essex

Sevenoaks School, Kent

Shrubland Street Community Primary School, Leamington Spa, Warwickshire


Alwoodley Primary School, Leeds

Greenbank High School, Southport, Merseyside

Sir Robert Geffery's School, Saltash, Cornwall

Ed tech

Halcyon London International School, Marylebone, London

Isle of Portland Aldridge Community Academy, Portland, Dorset

Langstone Junior School, Portsmouth

New Pasture Lane Primary School, Bridlington, East Yorkshire

Sport and healthy eating

Holy Cross High School, Hamilton, South Lanarkshire

Pallister Park Primary School, Middlesbrough

Sheffield High School, Sheffield

Springfield Academy, Darlington

Literacy and English

Eastbury Comprehensive School, Barking, London

Mile Oak Primary School, Brighton

West Kirby Residential School, Wirral

Woodside High School, Wood Green, London


Cardinal Allen Catholic High School, Fleetwood, Lancashire

Croftcroighn School, Glasgow

Our Lady and St Patrick's High School, Dumbarton

Queen Anne High School, Dunfermline, Fife

Sir John Lawes School, Harpenden, Hertfordshire

The Co-operative Academy of Leeds

Resource contributor of the year







Lifetime achievement

The shortlist for this award is kept secret. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony on Friday 4 July

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you