Skip to main content

Kennedy is chosen

Barrister Helena Kennedy QC is to chair a new committee set up to review further education funding.

The group, set up by the Further Education Funding Council, also includes principals John Guy of Farnborough Sixth Form College, David Henderson of Priestley College, Nick Lewis of Broxtowe, Howard Petch of Bishop Burton, Ruth Silver of Lewisham, Brian Styles of City of Bristol and Russell Woodrow of Stanmore.

Other members include John Brennan of the Association of Colleges, Derek Betts of the lecturers' union NATFHE, Stephen Crowne, chief executive of the Further Education Development Agency, and representatives from training and enterprise councils, the CBI and adult education.

The review timetable follows the pattern which created the complex FE funding method. The committee will issue recommendations by December, which will then be put out to consultation and considered by the FEFC in time for guidance to be issued to colleges in December 1997.

Ms Kennedy already chairs the FEFC's widening participation committee. The council says that the committee's recommendations, together with those of the Tomlinson Committee's report on special needs, will inform changes to the funding method.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you