Skip to main content



Dexter Walter Hutt, head, Ninestiles secondary school, Birmingham.


Peter Rene Lauener, director, Learning delivery and standards group, Department for Education and Skills.


Sir Frederick Donald Gosling. Services to The Duke of Edinburgh's Award and the Outward Bound Trust.

Michael James Kingshott, trustee, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award.

Lady Caroline Mary Ryder, MBE, former trustee, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award.


Sir William Martin Castell, former chairman, the Prince's Trust.


Sir Cyril Julian Hebden Taylor. Services to education.


Lady Pauline Harris. Charitable services, especially in education and health.


Jennifer Ann Chart, head, Portland school, Sunderland. Services to special needs education.

John Thomas Arthur Clark, former head, George Spencer foundation school and technology college, Nottingham.

David William Gibson, former chief executive, Association of Colleges.

Hugh Winston Howe, head, Fir Vale school, Sheffield.

William Jordon, head, Dyke House school, Hartlepool.

Professor Richard Edward Milburn, former professor of community education, University of Strathclyde. Services to community education and young people.

Charles John Perrin. Charitable services, especially to health and education in London.

Philip Pullman, writer. Services to literature.

Ronald William Fordham Searle, artist and cartoonist. Services to art.

Barry Stephen Townsley. Charitable services, especially to education and to the arts.

Adrian Thomas Verwoert, head, The Castle school, Thornbury, Bristol.


Gwen Acton, head, The Valley community school, Bolton.

Margaret Mary Andrews, head, Victoria college, Belfast.

Jarvis Joseph Astaire. Services to young people in London.

Professor Eileen Baker, former principal, Bishop Grosseteste college, Lincoln.

John Arthur William Bateman, chief executive, UK Youth and vice-chair of the National Council for Voluntary Youth Services.

Malcolm John Clayton, head, Fred Nicholson school, Dereham, Norfolk.

Michael James Counsell, principal youth officer for Gloucestershire.

Elspeth Freda Davis, divisional manager, South west early years, Office for Standards in Education.

Professor Charles Walter Desforges, Emeritus Professor of Education, University of Exeter.

Hazel Farrow, head, Loxford school of science and technology, Redbridge, London.

Valerie Weddell-Hall, head, Franche community first school, Kidderminster, Worcestershire. Professor Celia Hoyles, professor of mathematics education, Institute of Education, University of London.

Professor Richard McLaren Johnstone, director, Scottish centre for information on language teaching and research.

Professor Gordon Kirk, former vice-principal, University of Edinburgh. For services to teacher education.

Joseph Leiper, head, Oldmachar academy, Aberdeen.

Brenda Swaddle, head, Eastwood nursery, Wandsworth, London.

Dr Rona Valerie Tutt, former head, Woolgrove special school, Letchworth.

Roy Whittle, principal, Bolton sixth form college and chairman, AAS history examiners, Assessment and Qualifications Alliance.

Hilda Wilson, lately head, Charles Darwin primary, Northwich, Cheshire.


Gerard Armstrong, lately teacher, St Michael's RC comprehensive, Billingham, Stockton-on-Tees.

Rita Atkinson, for services to young people in Sutton Courtenay, Oxfordshire.

Andrew Stuart Bales, unit leader, The Duke of Edinburgh's Award, Newquay Tretherras school, Cornwall.

Roy Charles Barnett, services to UNICEF.

Russell Thomas Blackwell, lately treasurer, Benevolent Fund, Department for Education and Skills.

Neville John Blakeley, lately head of mathematics and assistant headteacher, Fair Oak high, Rugeley, Staffordshire.

Sara Alison Brigg, deputy head, Castlefields infants, Rastrick, Yorkshire.

John Maurice Brock, chair of governors, Sageston primary, Pembrokeshire.

Victor Brown, lately site manager, Abbey Hill technology college, Stockton-on-Tees.

Evan Bryson. Services to young people, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.

The Rev Stephen John Chalke. Services to social inclusion.

William Henry Chalton, public examiner for science and chemistry.

Josephine Suet Chan, language teacher, Greenwich Chinese school, London.

Barbara Clague, for services to education in South-east London.

Donald Stanley Courten, for services to education in Wolverhampton.

Diane Crouch, teaching assistant, Friars primary foundation school, Southwark, London.

Charles Douglas Cruse, handyman, John of Gaunt school, Trowbridge, Wiltshire.

Leonora Davies, music education consultant, Haringey, London.

Henry Charles Day, founder, Young Citizens Guild. For services to young people in Norfolk and Essex.

Barbara Daykin, volunteer classroom assistant, Morley primary, Ilkeston, Derbyshire.

Lawrence English. For services to transport education and training in West Yorkshire.

John Errington, teacher, Aston comprehensive, Sheffield.

Reginald Shirley Gilbert, for services to young people, Frome, Somerset.

Joyce Mary Gilmour, head, Ferryhill primary, Edinburgh.

Martin Godfrey, for services to young people.

Brian Golding, volunteer sports instructor, St Gregory's RC primary, Workington, Cumbria.

Timothy Haigh, chair of governors, Valley Road school, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire.

Doreen Hailes, lately school crossing warden, St Cuthbert's, Chester-le-Street.

Simon Harrison, lately head, Ifield, Gravesend, Kent. For services to special needs education.

Peter Hobley, voluntary teacher, St Mary's RC primary, Hammersmith, London.

Thelma Susannah Howard, school crossing warden, Toll Bar primary, Doncaster.

Nicholas James, premises manager, Brent Knoll school, Lewisham, London.

The Rev Christopher Robert Johnson, lately chair of governors, John Baskeyfield CofE school, Burslem, Staffordshire.

Hugh Gareth Jones, honorary chair, National Deaf Children's Society.

Penelope Jones, senior teaching assistant, Bexhill high, East Sussex.

Aedan Kerney, head of music and director of performing arts, Boundstone community college, Lancing, West Sussex.

William Patrick Kerridge, campus manager, Sandringham school, St Albans, Hertfordshire.

Susan Janice Kinsella, nursery nurse, Wolf Fields primary, Southall, London.

James Talbot Kirkwood, chair of governors, Caerleon comprehensive, Newport.

Stuart Lambie, for services to education in the Isle of Man.

Jean Lawson, lately leader, Nunthorpe school girls' choir, Middlesbrough.

Ruth Margaret Eleanor McCartney, director of music, Methodist college, Belfast Mary Oliver, special needs officer, Conwy education authority.

Gail Jacqueline Plant. Services to young people and community in Brownhills, Walsall.

Rosa Marlene Rayner, personal secretary to the chief inspector, Office for Standards in Education.

Joanna Roberts, volunteer, Benthal junior, Hackney, London.

Dilwyn John Rogers, former manager, Duke of Edinburgh's Award, South Wirral high school.

Eric Ross, school janitor, Grange primary, Bo'ness, West Lothian.

Diana Sharratt, lately English and drama teacher, Queen Elizabeth school, Kirkby Lonsdale, Lancashire.

David Sherman, lately community learning manager, Perth and Kinross Council.

James Sutton, premises officer and classroom assistant, Babington community college, Leicester.

Beverley Anne Thomas, head, St Francis RC infants, Cardiff.

Joan Trowsdale, teacher, Parish Church school, Skipton, North Yorkshire.

The Rev Raymond Williams, project manager, Bethel community college, Manchester.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you