Paying tribute to a `fantastic' sector

The runners and riders in the TES FE Awards 2015 unveiled

The countdown to the most prestigious event in the further education calendar begins today with the publication of the shortlist for the TES FE Awards 2015.

Dozens of colleges and training providers submitted entries for the awards, which recognise the best individual and team contributions to the sector.

This year there are three new categories: outstanding contribution to a subject or vocational area, training provider of the year and overall FE provider of the year. The winner of this last award will be chosen from the victors in the training provider of the year and college of the year categories.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel in Park Lane, London, on Friday 27 February.

TES editor Ann Mroz said the quality of entries reflected the strength and depth of the FE sector. "If anyone is in any doubt about the fantastic work that is going on in our colleges and training providers, then they need to look no further than the nominations we have received," she added.


Lifetime achievement

The shortlist for this award is kept secret. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony on Friday 27 February 2015

Contribution to the local community

Chichester College

City of Glasgow College

Havering College of Further and Higher Education

Pembrokeshire College

Wakefield College

West College Scotland

Outstanding use of technology in FE

Bedford College

Croydon College

Heart of Worcestershire College

Loughborough College

Reading College

Walsall College

Teacher of the year

Scott Hayden, Basingstoke College of Technology

Peter Wright, The Blackpool Sixth Form College

Nick Tasker, Bridgwater College

Tomas Yates, Chichester College

Ali Sharif, College of North West London

Mark Damon Chutter, Sussex Downs College

Support for students

Bournville College

Canterbury College

Colchester Institute

New College Swindon

NPTC Group

York College

Employer engagement

Belfast Metropolitan College

Bradford College

City College Plymouth

Coleg y Cymoedd

Training 2000

Uxbridge College

Best teaching and learning initiative

Boston College

Chichester College

City of Bath College

Coleg Sir Gar

Elatt Connected Learning

Highlands College

Marketingcommunications campaign of the year

Barnet and Southgate College

City and Islington College

Salford City College

Solihull College

The Manchester College

Wakefield College

Outstanding contribution to a subject or vocational area

Barking and Dagenham College

The Blackpool Sixth Form College

Bradford College

College of North West London

In Touch Care

Pembrokeshire College

FE leader of the year

Jackie Hadley, Barking and Dagenham College

Ian Pryce, Bedford College

Craig Hodgson, Newcastle-under-Lyme College

Jill Westerman, Northern College for Residential and Community Adult Education

Mhairi Harrington, West Lothian College

Paul Phillips, Weston College

Training provider of the year

DV8 Training

Foxes Academy

Lifetime Training

MPCT - Military Preparation College

PM Training

TQ Training

College of the Year

Barking and Dagenham College

Chichester College

John Ruskin College

New College Pontefract

Northern College for Residential and Community Adult Education

Weston College

Overall FE provider of the year

This award will be given to one of the winners in the training provider of the year and college of the year categories

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you