Skip to main content


Grampian has made the following appointments: Kenneth McGowan, formerly deputy head of Buchanhaven Primary School, became head of Clerkhill Primary, Cairntrodlie, Peterhead upon the retirement of Margaret Buchan.

Helen Maitland is now head of Hannover Street Primary, Aberdeen. She was formerly senior teacher at the school and replaces John Dempsey who was promoted to St Joseph's Primary School. Alison McElhinney, formerly acting head of Glashieburn Primary, is now head of Torry Nursery School, Aberdeen, replacing Elizabeth Stephen who moved to England. Merlyn Riggs, formerly acting head of Banchory Primary, is now head of Daviot Primary, Inverurie, replacing Wilma Walker who was promoted to Kintore Primary. Aline Paterson, formerly deputy head of Kittybrewster Primary, became head of Kinnellar Primary upon the retirement of David Gibson. Lorraine Brodie, formerly head of Loirston Primary, became head of Kirkhill Primary, Aberdeen, upon the retirement of Elizabeth McCombie.

Anne Tynan, formerly education officer at the Hunterian Museum and Art Gallery, Glasgow, has been appointed special educational needs co-ordinator at the Science Museum, London SW7.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you