Skip to main content


Joan Taylor, deputy director of education at Humberside, has been appointed director of education for Hull City Council.

Neil Harries, deputy director of education at Mid Glamorgan, has been appointed director of education at Caerphilly.

Paul O'Shea, head of Beverley School, Kingston-upon-Thames, Surrey, becomes head of Christ's College, Finchley, London NW4 in September. He replaces Brian Fletcher who is retiring after 17 years in the post.

John Regan, formerly deputy head of St Joseph's College, Ipswich is to be the head of the new St Joseph's College with the School of Jesus and Mary.

Keele University has awarded honorary degrees to: Sir Magdi Yacoub, pioneering heart surgeon (doctor of science); Dr Richard Hoggart, author and former warden of Goldsmiths' College, University of London (doctor of letters); Bernard Williams, professor of moral philosophy at Oxford University (doctor of letters); Michael Mansfield QC (doctor of laws); Margaret Spurr, former head of Bolton School Girls Division (doctor of letters); and Professor Sir Martin Rees, Astronomer Royal (doctor of science).

Recipients of University of Oxford honorary degrees include: Rt Hon Betty Boothroyd MP, first woman Speaker of the House of Commons and chancellor of the Open University (doctor of civil laws); Sir John Wilson CBE, director of the Royal Commonwealth Society for the Blind (doctor of civil laws); and David Hockney, artist, stage designer and photographer (doctor of letters).

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you