Skip to main content


Margaret Rudland, head of Godolphin and Latymer School, Hammersmith, is the new president of the Girls' Schools Association.

Tony Evans, head of the Portsmouth Grammar School, has become the first lay Roman Catholic to chair the Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference.

Darrell Farrant, head of Abbotsholme School, Staffordshire, has been appointed chairman of the Society of Headmasters and Headmistresses of Independent Schools.

Mary Harris, head of technology strategy at British Gas and president of the Women's Engineering Society, has been appointed director general of the Year of Engineering Success campaign from September 1996 to December 1997. Details: 0171 240 7891.

Vivian Hinchcliffe, lecturer in special education at Brunel University, will become head of Rectory Paddock School and Research Unit, Bromley, upon the retirement of Mark Roberts in April.

Honorary degrees awarded by the University of Hertfordshire include: doctor of science to Mary Archer, a bye-fellow of Newnham College, trustee of the Science Museum and a senior academic fellow at De Montfort University, Leicester; master of science to Gillian Ballance, a lecturer in social work at Hatfield Polytechnic for 23 years and an expert in counselling education, who recently visited Bosnia as part of the United Nations' psycho-social programme for traumatised children and their families; doctor of laws to Michael Mansfield QC, who has completed 25 years of criminal practice; and doctor of letters to Humphrey Lyttelton, the jazz band leader.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you