Skip to main content

Teaching Awards 2006 winners

* Outstanding new teacher Susan Ward (Juniper Green primary, Edinburgh)

* Teaching assistant Jim Herbert (Little Ilford school, Manor Park, north-east London)

* Primary school teacher Julie Puxley (R A Butler infants, Saffron Walden, Essex)

* Primary school headteacher Tracy Stone (Rookery primary school, Handsworth, Birmingham)

* Healthy school St Mary St Benedict RC primary school (Coventry)

* Enterprise teacher Stephen Cabrera (Rydens school, Walton on Thames, Surrey)

* Special needs teacher Hilary Cook (Lauriston primary, Hackney, east London)

* Secondary school teacher Ceri Evans (Gable Hall, Stanford-Le-Hope, Essex)

* Governor Patrick Hume (St Cecilia's college, Londonderry)

* Secondary school headteacher Jeffrey Threlfall (Wildern, Southampton)

* The Ted Wragg teaching award for lifetime achievement Gerry Curran (Featherstone primary school, Southall, London)

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you