12 to be inspected

12th September 1997 at 01:00
The Office for Standards in Education has announced the first 12 local education authorities to be inspected under its new powers.

They are Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Brent and Kingston-upon-Thames in London; the metropolitan boroughs of Manchester, Sandwell, Sunderland and Bury; and from the shires, Leicester, Nottingham, Kent and Surrey.

The selection is based upon key stage 2 and GCSE results. The two weakest, median and top in each category have been chosen by OFSTED.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today