Children's choice

16th May 2003 at 01:00
The post of Children's Laureate was invented by Michael Morpurgo and Ted Hughes, and is sponsored by Waterstone's booksellers

Children's Laureates

* Quentin Blake 1999-2001

* Anne Fine 2001-2003

* Michael Morpurgo takes over this week for two years

Who decides?

Children are invited by Waterstone's to nominate writers and illustrators.

Interested bodies such as the International Board for Books for Young People, the Federation of Children's Book Groups and librarians' groups are consulted and a final decision made by a panel of expert judges under the chairmanship of a well-known figure, this year the editor of Private Eye, Ian Hislop.


Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today