Countdown to confusion?;Unitary Authorities

3rd April 1998 at 01:00
Local government reorganisation was first flagged up in a 1990 green paper put forward by then environment secretary Michael Heseltine.

The process was begun by the Local Government Commission, set up in 1992 by Parliament.

Wales and the Isle of Wight led the way on unitary status. Eight Welsh counties were replaced by 22 unitary authorities in 1995.

Cleveland and Humberside were replaced by 12 unitaries in 1996, the same year that York left North Yorkshire.

Berkshire disappeared this week, replaced by five of a total of 19 new councils. The class of 1998 includes Plymouth, Telford and the Wrekin, and Slough.

So far, five English counties have been abolished and 46 unitary authorities created.

In England, reorganisation has created an often confusing mixture of two-tier and unitary authorities. For example, the new Hampshire remains but the county has lost the port cities of Portsmouth and Southampton to new unitaries.

Karen Thornton

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now