The EU expands

30th April 2004 at 01:00
(Photograph) - They may often have squabbled like siblings, but European countries have also demonstrated commitment to each other over more than half a century. The parents of this burgeoning family were the six countries that formed the European Coal and Steel Community in 1951, integrating parts of their economies.

Six years later they decided to go further, removing trade barriers to create a "common market", the European Economic Community. Three countries, including the UK, joined in 1973, one in 1981 and two in 1986. East Germany entered in 1990, when Germany was reunited.

The EEC became the European Union in 1992, set on a course of economic and monetary union. Three more countries joined in 1995. Twelve of the members switched to the common currency, the euro, in 2002.

On May 1, 2004, the family will increase from 15 to 25 members. A further five countries have applied to join.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now