Gold standard

15th June 2007 at 01:00
Primary pupils are being given the chance to gain a nationally accredited certificate in basic computer use, which they can build on when they move to secondary school.

The Ingot awards are being made available at gold, silver and bronze levels; the more basic are aimed at primary pupils and gold at GCSE level.

They have been developed by advocates of open source software, the free alternative to commercial programs such as Microsoft Office, and recognise pupils' abilities whatever operating platform their school uses.

About 20 hours of work is expected for a bronze award, covering how to switch on a computer and correct seating posture to editing text, creating diagrams and making presentations.

The gold award takes 60 hours, with units on knowledge of open source systems, producing documents, using spreadsheets and citizenship, in which the student writes blogs and supports the development of open source software.


Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today