For hands that did dishes for 82 years

5th January 1996 at 00:00
Diane Spencer scrutinises education's crop of awards in the 1996 New Year Honours list.

Further and higher education featured in the New Year Honours with Professor Graeme Davies gaining a knighthood for his services to the Higher Education Funding Council while Michael Heron was knighted for his work as chairman of the National Council for Vocational Qualifications.

Colin Flint, principal of Solihull College, was awarded an OBE as was the Rev Wilbert Awdry, creator of Thomas the Tank Engine, for his services to children's literature. Heather Du Quesnay, Hertfordshire's director of education became a CBE along with Jim Rose, deputy director of the Office for Standards in Education.

As usual the 500-plus MBEs contained a fair sprinkling of lollipop ladies and school caretakers: Joan Widera was recommended after inspectors praised her work as a school meals' server during a visit. She has clocked up a total of more than 82 years' service at the 70-pupil Whitstone primary school, Cornwall, in her capacity as site and bus supervisor and servery assistant. She retired from one of her three jobs a year ago.


Professor Graeme Davies, for services to the Higher Education Funding Council, England. Michael Heron, for services to vocational education and training. Professor John Horlock, treasurer and vice president of the Royal Society. For services to science, engineering and to education. Stanley Kalms, founder and chairman, Dixons Group plc. For services to the electrical retailing industry. Member of Funding Agency for Schools.

Companions of the Order of the Bath: Thomas Gallacher, senior chief inspector of schools, Scottish Office. Clive Tucker, under secretary, Department for Education and Employment.

DBE:Antoinette Sibley, CBE, president of the Royal Academy of Dancing. For services to ballet.

CBE:Heather Du Quesnay, director of education, Hertfordshire County Council. For services to Education. Diana Ernaelsteen, civil servant, DFEE. John Roberts, historian. For services to history and to education. Arthur (Jim) Rose, deputy director of inspection, Office for Standards in Education.

OBE:James Armstrong. For services to engineering and to education. Janet Atkinson. For services to education. The Rev Wilbert Awdry. For services to children's literature. Brian Boyle, lately headteacher, Anfield community comprehensive school, Liverpool. David Chiverton, chairman of the governing body, Chichester College of Arts, Science and Technology. Colin Flint, principal, Solihull College. John Ganson, lately rector, Kirkton High School, Dundee. John Lewis, principal, Dixon's City Technology College, Bradford. Patrick McAleavey. Robin Peverett, lately director of education, Incorporated Association of Preparatory Schools. Gordon Rees, lately head, Danetre School, Daventry, Northamptonshire. Vincent Robinson, civil servant, DFEE. Maureen Sedgwick, lately headteacher, The Ridings High School, Winterbourne, Avon. John Sellars, company secretary, Association of Scottish Colleges. Professor Janet Sprent, deputy principal, University of Dundee. Angus Taylor, civil servant, DFEE. John Thomas, lately head, Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf, Cardiff. John Turner, vice-principal, Writtle Agricultural College, Essex. Thomas Tyler, civil servant, DFEE.

MBE:Allison Adams, head of Glenwood Centre, Langside College, Glasgow. Madeleine Arnold, chairman of governors, La Retraite RC Girls' School, Lambeth, London. Valerie Barrie, head, Ettrick primary school, Ettrick Valley, Selkirk. Irene Cameron, for services to St Julian's High School, Gwent. Violet Chater, school crossing patrol, Bedfordshire County Council. Jan J Clements, for services to the Northern Children's Book Festival. Gurdev Singh Dahele, higher education officer, DFEE. Michael Dobson, lately principal community education officer, North Yorkshire. Moira Ferguson, lately national executive officer, Scottish Pre-School Play Association. David Firmstone, senior art adviser, Cheshire County Council. Edith Frodsham, senior executive officer, DFEE. William Geer, lately senior executive officer, DFEE. Kevin Gilbride. Sheila Greenfield, lately headteacher, Townsend CofE School, St Albans, Hertfordshire. Yvonne Henshaw, headteacher, Canonbury junior school, Islington, London. Edith Jones, for services to Shaw county primary school, South Ockendon, Essex. Peter Jordan, senior teacher and director of studies, Light Hall School, Solihull. Jean Kidd, lately musical director, Royal Scottish National Orchestra Junior Chorus. May Lalkhan, support manager, DFEE. Frances Mailer, principal's secretary, Glenrothes College, Fife. Alice Marlow, school crossing patrol, Leicestershire County Council. Catriona McInnes, principal teacher, computing studies, Boroughmuir High, Edinburgh. Sean Murphy, head, Our Lady of Lourdes RC primary school, Brent, Middlesex. Jill Newell, senior assistant librarian, University of London. Margaret Phillips, school crossing patrol, Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council. Eryl Pugh, caretaker, Church Stoke county primary school, Powys. Peter Roberts. For services to engineering education. Margaret Sheridan, support grade I, DFEE. Jean Thompson, lately support grade I, Teachers' Pension Agency, DFEE. Edwin Valler, deputy chief security officer, University of Surrey. Joan Widera, servery assistant and site supervisor, Whitstone primary school, Cornwall. Frederick Wilkinson, technology co-ordinator, St James CofE middle school, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk. Margaret Wilson, secretary, Grangemouth High, Stirlingshire. Maureen Woodhouse, head, Alverton county primary school, Penzance, Cornwall.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now