Key Changes

18th November 1994 at 00:00
Diane Spencer finds many keen to blow the final whistle on the team games revival. The new Order places greater emphasis on the practical and performing side of the subject and less on planning and evaluation.

* Key stage 1: areas of activity have been reduced from five to three ("simple competitive games", gym and dance) with swimming optional. Dance has been slimmed to exclude "making dances" and pupils will be taught some traditional dances.

* Key stage 2: all areas of activity have been pruned except for games. Pupils will be taught games, gym and dance each year and athletics, outdoor adventurous activities and swimming at points during the key stage.

* Key stage 3: areas of activity have been spit into half-units except for games. Pupils should be taught at least one other full area of activity (unit A and B from athletics, outdoor and adventurous activities, swimming, gym, dance) and at least two additional half-units taken from different activities. At least one half-unit must be gym or dance.

* Key stage 4: everyone must choose a game and another activity, which can be swimming.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today