Fort Nelson, near Fareham, was built in the 1860s to guard Portsmouth and the naval dockyard from a feared French invasion. It has been restored to house the Royal Armouries collection of artillery and opens on April 1.
Exhibits range from the Dardanelles gun of 1464, Tudor culverins and Mallet's Mortar to British and German Second World War anti-aircraft guns and components of the Iraqi "supergun". Visitors can explore ammunitions tunnels, magazines, and barracks which recreate how officers and men lived. There will be regular firing days performed by members of Portsdown Artillery Volunteers, Brockhurst Artillery and Sword Battery. There are free guided tours and an education room. Tel: 01329 233734.