New baccalaureate

1st August 2008 at 01:00

More than 100 schools and colleges will offer a new "English baccalaureate" from September, the exam board behind it said this week. Students studying the AQA bacc must take three A-levels; a paper in critical thinking, citizenship or general studies; a project; and 100 hours of personal development activity, work-based learning or community work. Candidates are awarded pass, merit or distinction. The qualification joins A-levels, the international baccalaureate, diplomas and the Cambridge Pre-U, which all become available to sixth formers from next term.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now