Origins of the specialists

14th February 2003 at 00:00
SPECIALIST schools were launched in 1994 and are the Government's flagship policy to raise standards.

All secondary schools in England can apply for specialist status: 2,000 are expected to have adopted a specialism by 2006.

To qualify, the schools must raise pound;50,000 from the private sector (less for schools of fewer than 500 pupils) and produce a four-year plan for teaching and learning and involvement with other schools and the community. They receive a one-off pound;100,000 grant plus pound;123 per pupil for four years.

A further 217 schools received specialist status this week, taking the total up to 1,209 or 38 per cent of English secondaries. The current categories are technology, language, sports, arts, business and enterprise, engineering, mathematics and computing, and science.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today