Outstanding accolades

14th December 2007 at 00:00
Two Scottish teachers are among five winners of UK awards for physics teaching.

The Institute of Physics identified Ronna Montgomery of Bearsden Academy as a leading practitioner of her subject. She has worked in the East Dunbartonshire school's physics department for about 25 years, and is renowned for making the subject exciting. Her head of department describes her as "an inspiration to students and to colleagues".

Fellow winner Michael McVey retired recently from his post as principal physics teacher at Lourdes Secondary in Glasgow. A former pupil said Mr McVey made the subject accessible with his "unique sense of humour and amiable personality", and "countless students were transformed through his inspirational teaching".

There is no set number of awards given out by the institute - only those marked out as "outstanding" by a panel of former and current teachers receive an accolade.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now