24th October 1997 at 01:00
The following chief executives have been appointed to Research Councils from April 1, 1998: Dr Albert Westwood is to succeed Dr Paul Williams as chairman and chief executive of the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils; Professor Ian Halliday is to succeed Professor Ken Pounds as chief executive and deputy chairman of the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council; and Professors Richard Brook and John Krebs have been reappointed as chief executive and deputy chairmen of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and Natural Environment Research Council respectively.

Dr Wynne Jones, principal of Harper Adams Agricultural College, Newport, Shropshire, has been made a professor, the first in the college's 96-year history.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now