31st March 1995 at 01:00
Michael Bett CBE is resigning as chair of the Training and Enterprise Council National Council in a few months when he becomes First Civil Service Commissioner.

The University of Kent, Canterbury, is to confer the following honorary degrees at its July awards ceremony: Ralph Steadman, cartoonist, illustrator and writer (Doctorate of Letters); Helen Sharman, scientist and astronaut (Doctorate of Science); Trevor Pinnock, harpsichordist, conductor and director of The English Concert (Doctorate of Music); Sir John Swire, deputy pro-chancellor of the University (Doctorate of Civil Law); Sir John Cornforth FRS, director of Shell research, 1962-72, and 1975 Nobel prizewinner (Doctorate of Science); and Wallace Harvey, founder and president of the Whitstable Museum and Historical Society (Master of Arts).

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now