25th August 1995 at 01:00
Rosalind Driver, professor of science education and director of the Children's Learning in Science Research Group at Leeds University, has been appointed chair of science education at King's College London.

Baroness Perry of Southwark, president of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge, and the former vice-chancellor of South Bank University, has been awarded an honorary degree by the Roehampton Institute.

Sir Aaron Klug, director of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, is to take over from Sir Michael Atiyah as president of the Royal Society in December for a period of five years.

Eric Ashton, retired principal of Newark and Sherwood College, Nottinghamshire, has been awarded a PhD by Loughborough University of Technology after six years of research into how further education colleges have coped with the technological, social, economic and political changes of the past decade.

Michael Paske, managing director of Michael Paske Farms, has taken over from Elizabeth Purdey as chairman of governors of Taverham Hall School, Norwich, Norfolk. He is a former pupil of the school.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now