21st July 1995 at 01:00
MARGARET MADEN, formerly chief education officer for Warwickshire, is taking up the directorship of the Centre for Successful Schools and the associated chair in education at Keele University in October. She succeeds PROFESSOR MICHAEL BARBER, who is moving to the Institute of Education, London University.

Recipients of honorary degrees at Staffordshire University include: Sir RON DEARING, chair of the School Curriculum and Assessment Authority (doctor of technology); KEN LOACH, film director (doctor of letters); GEORGE RODGER, the renowned documentary photographer (doctor of letters); and ANDREAS PATSALIDES, director of PA College, Larnaca, Cyprus (doctor of technology).

Sheffield University is conferring honorary degrees upon: SIR ROBERT KILPATRICK, president of the General Medical Council (doctor of laws); PROFESSOR MICHAEL STERLING, vice-chancellor of Brunel University (doctor of engineering); PROFESSOR GRAEME DAVIS, chief executive of the Higher Education Funding Council and vice-chancellor elect of Glasgow University (doctor of metallurgy); PETER HALL, professor of planning at University College, London (doctor of letters); and JOHN RIMINGTON, director general of the Health and Safety Executive (doctor of science).

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today