21st April 1995 at 01:00
The Institute of Education, University of London, has conferred honorary fellowships on: Sir Ron Dearing, chairman of the School Curriculum and Assessment Authority, Lena Saleh, UNESCO's senior programme specialist responsible for special needs education, and Sir William Taylor, vice-chancellor of Huddersfield University and former director of the Institute 1973-83.

Joyce Rothschild, senior teacher consultant for Birmingham, has been appointed music inspector for Solihull. She succeeds Malcolm Goldring, who has become director of music at the Welsh College of Music and Drama, Cardiff.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today