11th April 1997 at 01:00
Ian Hume, HM I inspector at the Office of her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Schools in Wales, will become secretary and chief executive of the Welsh Joint Education Committee in June following the retirement of Clayton Heycock.

Dianne Robinson, head of Wakefield Girls' High School (Junior) is to replace Elizabeth Prichard as head of Warwick Preparatory School when she retires in September after 16 years in the post.

Barbara Vanderstock has retired as head of Bullers Wood School, Chislehurst, Kent, after 20 years' service.

Warminster School, Wiltshire, has awarded sixth-form scholarships to Victoria Cave, Stuart D'Souza, Robert Faulconer, Edward Fielding, Henry Gibson, Lisa King (sport) and Georgina Starkie (music) and an 11-plus scholarship to Toby Betenson. A 13-plus scholarship (art) has been awarded to Hamish Barnetson, Great Ballard School, Eartham, and 11-plus scholarships to Emily Grist, Minster School, Warminster, David Marsden, Swan School, Salisbury, and Dorothy Ridout, Sutton Veny Primary School.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today