Rewarded for excellence. . .

29th January 1999 at 00:00
Seventy-six schools, colleges, universities and other educational organisations have been presented with a Charter Mark - the Government's award for excellence in public service. They are: Schools

Angmering school, Littlehampton, W Sussex; Ashdown school, Poole, Dorset; Athelstan primary, Leeds; Brentside high school, Ealing, London; Caistor grammar, Caistor, Lincs; Coppice community high, Wolverhampton; Caterham high school, Ilford, Essex; Elmtree first school, Chesham, Bucks; Ercall Wood school, Telford, Shrops; Faringdon school, Faringdon, Oxon; Godolphin county junior, Slough, Berks; Great Barr primary, Birmingham; Greenleas lower school, Leighton Buzzard, Beds; Greensward school, Hockley, Essex; Hayfield School, Auckley, Doncaster; Hayesfield girls school, Bath; Hensall county primary, Goole, Humberside; Hessle high school, Hessle, E Yorks; Holy Cross RC high school, Chorley, Lancs; Hormead C of E school, Buntingford, Herts; Hylton Red House primary, Sunderland; Idsall school, Shifnal, Shrops; Langley Park girls' school, Beckenham, Kent; Leicester Royal Infirmary NHS Trust children's hospital school; Longdendale high school, Hyde, Cheshire; Marshfield primary, Cardiff, S Glamorgan; Moseley school, Birmingham; Parklands junior, Romford, Essex; Philip Morant school, Colchester, Essex; Rachel Madocks school, Waterlooville, Hants; St Peter at Gowts primary, Lincoln; St Matthew's primary, Ipswich, Suffolk; Sir Charles Lucas school, Colchester, Essex; Sir James Barrie school, London; Stoneleigh first school, Epsom, Surrey; Swaffield primary, London; Sylvester primary, Liverpool; Thomas Hardye school, Dorchester, Dorset; Thomas Telford school, Telford, Shrops; Threshfield primary, Skipton, N Yorks; Townsend school, St Albans, Herts; Tuxford comprehensive, Newark, Notts; Upper Beeding primary, Steyning, W Sussex; Valley End CofE infants, Chobham, Surrey; Willows nursery, Portsmouth, Hants; Winston Churchill school, Woking, Surrey.


Bournville College, Birmingham; Bromley College, Kent; Canterbury College, Kent; Carlisle College, Cumbria; City College Manchester; Coventry Technical College; Darlington College of Technology; Dixons City Technology College, Bradford; Falkirk College; Gateshead College; Hartlepool College of Further Education; Havering Adult College, Essex; Lewisham College, London; Leyland St Mary's Technology College, Lancs; Minsthorpe community college, Pontefract, W Yorks; Pembrokeshire College, Dyfed; Richmond Adult and Community College, Middlesex; Runshaw College, Preston, Lancs; Salisbury College, Wiltshire; Selby College, S Yorks; St Mary's College, Londonderry; South Birmingham College; Telford College of Arts and Technology, Shrops.


Kingston Upon Hull governors team; University and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS), Cheltenham; Warrington Collegiate Institute, Cheshire.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today