Seven counties may avoid rejig

25th November 1994 at 00:00
Seven counties are likely to remain untouched in the next tranche of reorganisations recommended by the Local Government Commission. The review team will next month propose that Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Suffolk, Surrey, Warwickshire and West Sussex should retain their existing structure, according to a report in the Local Government Chronicle. Major changes appear likely in Berkshire and Dorset, which may be split into a smaller unitary authorities. Hereford and Worcestershire could apparently revert to two counties, with Hereford a unitary authority and a two-tier Worcestershire.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar,, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today