Task force named

19th July 1996 at 01:00
The Labour party has announced the members of its literacy task force, headed by Professor Michael Barber, which will make its recommendations to an incoming government.

The list consists of Professor David Reynolds, headteachers Anne Waterhouse, John Botham and Mary Gray, parent Diane Wright, school governor Simon Goodenough, David Pitt-Watson of Deloitte Touche, and Mike Raleigh, an observer from the Office for Standards in Education.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today