Technicians Awards

7th January 2005 at 00:00
School technicians are the lynchpin of a department. Recently, they are being more publicly recognised for their hard work and enthusiasm. The Salters' Institute, in collaboration with the Association for Science Education, the Institute of Biology, the Institute of Physics, The Royal Society and The Royal Society of Chemistry, runs the National Awards for Science Technicians, open to science technicians in schools and colleges who have a total of five or more years' experience (either full-time or part-time). This year's winners are: Michelle Bartley from Durham high school for girls, Durham; Tracy Callen from Portchester community school, Fareham; Debra Kirton from St Joseph's RC community school, Hebburn; and Carole Potter from The Ellen Wilkinson school for girls in the London borough of Ealing.

For details:

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now