Top principals honoured

5th January 2007 at 00:00

The chairman of further education's self-selected equivalent of the Russell Group of top universities has been made a CBE in the New Year Honours list.

Ioan Morgan, the principal of Warwickshire College, was given the honour after leading the 157 Group, a collection of large, successful colleges. Other new CBEs include Mike Snell, the former principal of Brockenhurst College in Hampshire, and Sheila Drury, former chair of the Welsh FE funding body, ELWa.

Five principals were made OBEs: Ian Bennett of Strode Tertiary College, Douglas Boynton of Telford College, Nicholas Brown of Oldham Sixth Form College, David Heaton of Queen Elizabeth Sixth Form College in Darlington and Christopher Moody of Moulton College in Northampton. Martin Norfield, the English language adviser at the Skills for Life strategy unit, also was made an OBE.

MBE honours were given to Harold Bales, a lecturer in gas industry training at New College Nottingham, George Edwards, a former property adviser at the Learning and Skills Council, Eileen Rosco, a youth team manager at the Lancashire LSC, Carmen O'Hagan, a Belfast prison teacher, and Peter Smart, director of adult learning at Chichester College.

Subscribe to get access to the content on this page.

If you are already a Tes/ Tes Scotland subscriber please log in with your username or email address to get full access to our back issues, CPD library and membership plus page.

Not a subscriber? Find out more about our subscription offers.
Subscribe now
Existing subscriber?
Enter subscription number


The guide by your side – ensuring you are always up to date with the latest in education.

Get Tes magazine online and delivered to your door. Stay up to date with the latest research, teacher innovation and insight, plus classroom tips and techniques with a Tes magazine subscription.
With a Tes magazine subscription you get exclusive access to our CPD library. Including our New Teachers’ special for NQTS, Ed Tech, How to Get a Job, Trip Planner, Ed Biz Special and all Tes back issues.

Subscribe now