Whose views were sought in the survey

2nd June 1995 at 01:00
We interviewed the chairs of 28 college governing bodies in England (the FEFC's remit is limited to England) - three from each of the nine Further Education Funding Council regions, and one extra from Yorkshire and Humberside.

As far as possible the spread of types of college mirrors their real distribution. We talked to 14 general FE colleges out of 223, 6 sixth form colleges out of 11; 4 tertiary colleges out of 64; 2 agriculture and horticulture colleges out of 36; one of the 13 art, design and performing arts colleges; and one of the 14 colleges in FEFC regions.

"Colleges in the FEFC regions" are not strictly FE colleges. Their work is mostly adult education, but they are under the supervision of the FEFC from which they receive a large proportion of their funding. They include famous adult education institutions like the Workers Educational Association, The City Literary Institute, the Working Men's College, Fircroft College in Birmingham, and Ruskin College in Oxford.

The full list of interviewees, broken down by FEFC region, is: Northern Region:

Ron Goodwin, Cleveland Tertiary College Geoff Nichol, Darlington College of Technology Ray Waller, Hartlepool College

North West:

Ray Holden,South Trafford College John Collins, Widnes Sixth Form College Bill Wannop, Newton Rigg College

Yorkshire and Humberside:

Peter Fox, Bishop Burton College of Agriculture Sir Douglas Brown, Leeds College of Art and Design Alan Owen, York Sixth Form College Bob Sowman, Bradford andIlkley Community College

West Midlands:

George Mardle, Stoke on Trent College John Roberts, Henley College, Coventry James Millington, Kidderminster College

East Midlands:

Wendy Farrow, Daventry Tertiary College Kath Taylor, Hinckley College Philip Newton, Grantham College


John Bruce, South East Essex College of Arts and Technology Colin Tagg, Dunstable College Dr Richard Bruckdorfer, Luton Sixth Form College

South West:

John Ault, Yeovil College Jeremy Blatchford, Norton Radstock `College Admiral Sir Ted Horlick, City of Bath College

South East:

Professor Michael Eraut, Lewes Tertiary College Audrey Simpson, Brighton College of Technology Dr Peter Mills, Portsmouth Sixth Form College

Greater London:

Ivor Hockman, Woodhouse Sixth Form College Monty Williams, City Literary Institute Monsignor John Coughlan, St Dominic's Sixth Form College.

Log-in as an existing print or digital subscriber

Forgotten your subscriber ID?


To access this content and the full TES archive, subscribe now.

View subscriber offers


Get TES online and delivered to your door – for less than the price of a coffee

Save 33% off the cover price with this great subscription offer. Every copy delivered to your door by first-class post, plus full access to TES online and the TES app for just £1.90 per week.
Subscribers also enjoy a range of fantastic offers and benefits worth over £270:

  • Discounts off TES Institute courses
  • Access over 200,000 articles in the TES online archive
  • Free Tastecard membership worth £79.99
  • Discounts with Zipcar, Buyagift.com, Virgin Wines and other partners
Order your low-cost subscription today