Skip to main content

TES FE Awards: call for entries as nominations open

The brightest and best individuals and institutions in the FE sector are invited to enter the TES FE Awards 2015.

Today marks the opening of nominations for this year’s awards, and we’re keen to shine a light on the best colleges, training providers, lecturers and leaders the sector has to offer.

This year there are 12 categories up for grabs, which recognise outstanding provision in all aspects of FE. There are three new awards up for grabs, including a new flagship title for independent training providers.

The winner will then go head to head with the college of the year for the prestigious overall title of FE provider of the year.

Stewart Segal, chief executive of the Association of Employment and Learning Providers, said he was delighted at the national recognition for training providers the new category represented. “We warmly welcome the special recognition that the TES award will confer on one of these providers and the enhancement to the winner’s profile that it will bring,” he said.

Another new category, the award for outstanding contribution to a subject or vocational area, will go to the teacher who has demonstrated the most imaginative and -innovative approach to their area of expertise.

Ann Mroz, editor of TES, said: “FE is a hotbed of inspiration, dedication and sheer talent, and we are delighted to be able to support the sector by celebrating some of the amazing things going on day in, day out in colleges and training providers.

“They are often educational heroes, sometimes over-shadowed by schools and universities, but we are determined to show that FE -deserves its place in the limelight every bit as much as anybody else.”

To put your establishment in the spotlight, submit 500 words on why you deserve to win by 2 November 2014.

The deadline for entries is 2 November, with the glittering awards ceremony taking place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on 27 February 2015.

To enter, or for more details, visit

 Award categories:

 • Lifetime achievement

• Teacher of the year 

• Employer engagement

• Outstanding use of technology in FE  

• Marketing/communications
campaign of the year

• Best teaching and learning initiative

• Contribution to the local community  

• FE leader of the year 

• Support for students  

• Outstanding contribution to a subject
or vocational area

• Training provider of the year 

• College of the year

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you