Who will be the fourth children's laureate?

TES books editor Geraldine Brennan on the inside literary track

Who will be the fourth children's laureate, stepping into Michael Morpurgo's seven-league boots for two years from next May? Jacqueline Wilson and Michael Rosen spring to mind, but the answer lies partly with the public (children and adults), who can cast their votes at www.childrens laureate.org until December 31. The nominations will be taken into account by the panel of children's books professionals who make the appointment (including Karen Usher, librarian of South Hunsley school in East Yorkshire). The children who write the three nominations the judges like best will be invited to the award ceremony next May. The website also tells you the history of the laureateship and the logo (pictured) by Andrew Davidson, based on Ted Hughes's Iron Man. You can also find out where to catch up with Morpurgo before Christmas.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you