Skip to main content

Awards for services to education;Honours


Trevor McDonald OBE for services to broadcasting and journalism

Order of the Bath


Michael Bichard permanent secretary, Department for Education and Employment

Order of the British Empire


Mavis Grant headteacher, Mary Trevelyan primary school, Newcastle


Michael Collier lately chief executive, Funding Agency for Schools

Christopher Cosgrave headteacher, St John the Divine CE Primary School, Lambeth, London

Anthony Gavin headteacher, St Margaret's Academy, Livingston

Philip Hunter director of education, Staffordshire

Christopher Parker headteacher, Nottingham high school and chair of advisory group on independentstate school partnerships

Catherine Porteous National Council of One-Parent Families


David Anderson head of education at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London

Sister Dorothy Bell college governor and former principal of Digby Stuart College

Edward Bowen for services to secondary education

Christine Crathorne DFEE

Neil Jones headteacher, Ysgol Glanymor comprehensive

Roger Luxton principal inspector, London borough of Barking and Dagenham

Valerie MacIver chair, Highland Council education committee

Professor Adam McBride for services to mathematics in schools

Cerri Morse headteacher, Penrhys junior school, Rhondda, Cynon Taff

Gillian Nott lately chief executive, ProShare, for services to financial education

Elizabeth Passmore head of school improvement at the Office for Standards in Education

Kamlesh Patel for services to health issues within ethnic-minority communities

Patricia Petch JP chair, National Governors' Council, for services to education

Libby Purves writer and broadcaster, for services to journalism

Ann Risman principal, Richmond Adult and Community College, Surrey

Usha Sahni headteacher, Argyle primary school, Kings Cross, London

Michaela Saunders headteacher, Shaw Park primary school, Hull

Margaret Smart director, Catholic Education Service

Ian Sparks for services to the Children's Society

Patricia Stewart headteacher, Chatterbridge school, Wirral

Aidan Stokes principal, North Warwickshire and Hinckley College, for services to education policy

Shirley Trundle childcare unit, DFEE

Eric Watts lately county youth and community officer, Kent


Nina Alcock, for services to education in Suffolk

Mavis Fraser Bain for services to examinations in Scotland

Audrey Beeches for services to South Reach Youth Club, Erith, Kent

William Burns for services to primary education and arts in Belfast

Elizabeth Calvert lately school crossing patrol, Leeds

The Hon Jennet Campbell voluntary music teacher in Cornwall, for services to education and music

Elizabeth Clark lately school crossing patrol, Glasgow

Rose Clayton Tartan Tots day nursery, for services to nursery education, Aberdeen

Janet Dalglish for services to children's play schemes, London

Cyril Day for services to education in South-east Wales

Douglas Dennis for services to careers education in North Yorkshire

Jane Dickinson senior personal secretary, DFEE

Sharatchandra Anant Dongre lately higher executive officer, DFEE

John Elliott services to National Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children, Manchester

Anthony Gay deputy principal,Kidderminster College

Frederick Frampton school crossing patrol, Titchfield

Howard Jeffrey mentor co-ordinator, City and Islington College,London

Arlene Kee for services to youth work in Northern Ireland

Arthur Kemp JP for services to the community, especially the Boys' Brigade, Nottingham

John Kendall for services to people in Dorset with learning disabilities

Rose Lever for services to out-of-school childcare in Royton, Lancashire? John Machin teacher, Heathfield high school, Congleton, Staffs, for services to careers education

Avtar Singh Mangat headteacher, Wilkes Green junior school Handsworth

Amy Markham lately school cook, for services to the William Marshall V CE primary school, Welney, Cambs

Margaret McMillan for services to the South Ayrshire Children's Panel

Clare and Michael Morpurgo co-founders, Farms for City Children

Ernest Norman for services topeople with learning disabilities in Plymouth

Mary Oakes chair of governors, Anchorsholme county primary school, Blackpool

Ronald Restall parent-governor, Ian Ramsey secondary school and Rosehill infant school, Stockton-on-Tees

Anne Smith headteacher, Crickhowell county primary school, Powys

Gerard Stothard JP for services to education in Hertfordshire

Myrtle Tabel for services to education on Guernsey

Libby Purves, page 52

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you