The Beacon awards 20056

Tes Editorial

Curriculum-focused awards

* Allied Irish Bank award for teaching excellence in business administration.

Winner: Neath Port Talbot college

* Basic Skills Agency award for Innovation. Winner: City of Sunderland college. Commended: Tower Hamlets college.

* CLA award for creativity in writing, art or design.

Winner: Cardinal Newman college.

* City Guilds award for the teaching and assessment of beauty therapy.

Winner: Fareham college. Commended: Chichester college and Bournemouth and Poole college.

* Jardine Lloyd Thompson Healthcare award for health and community care.

Winner: Cornwall college.

Commended: Plymouth college and Blackburn college.

* NEBOSH award for teaching programmes in occupational health, safety and environmental management. Winner: Deeside college. Commended: Lewisham college.

* Protocol Professional award for art and design.

Winner: Cleveland college of art and design.

IT awards and awards where college provision enhances learning

* Becta award for the effective use of ICT and e-learning to enhance and support organisational development. Winner: Pembrokeshire college. Highly commended: Eccles college.

* CoLRiC award for the effective integration of librarieslearning resources centres in curriculum delivery. Winner: Bournemouth and Poole college. Commended: College of North West London.

* Edge award for practical teaching and learning.

Winner: Pendleton college.

* FENC award for the successful use of learning resources. Winner: City of Bristol college. Commended: City of Westminster college.

* Ufilearndirect award for delivering learning through learndirect centres in colleges. Winner: Newcastle college.

Awards for inclusivity and reaching out to communities

* British Council award for international student support. Winner: Sussex Downs college. Commended: Boston college.

* Churches' award for sustainable community development.

Winner: Omagh college.

Commended: Newcastle-under-Lyme college.

* Edexcel award for lifelong learning. Winner: Hull college. Commended: Telford college of arts and technology.

* Learning and Skills Council award for equality and diversity. Winner: Blackpool and the Fylde college.

* MENCAP and RNIB award for students with learning difficulties andor disabilities. Winner: Pembrokeshire college. Commended: Eccles college.

* TESAoC award for widening participation.

Winner: South East Derbyshire college. Commended: Newham college and City of Bristol college.

Leadership awards

* Centre for Excellence award for innovation in curriculum leadership.

Winner: Blackpool and the Fylde college. Commended: South Devon college.

* RM award for leadership in learning. Winner: West Nottinghamshire college. Commended: Bridgwater college.

Partnership awards

* AQA award for college-school partnerships. Winner: North Warwickshire and Hinckley college. Commended: Sheffield college.

* Department for Employment and Learning award for college engagement with employers. Winner: Upper Bann Institute. Commended: Fermanagh college

* ELWa award for college engagement with employers. Winner: Coleg Sir Gar

* Learning and Skills Council award for college engagement with employers.

Winner: Bridgwater college. Commended: College of North West London and Newcastle college.

* OCR award for partnerships in basic skills. Winner: Lewisham college.

Register to continue reading for free

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you

Tes Editorial

Latest stories