Birthday Honours for Education


Robert Dowling, head, George Dixon secondary school and sixth-form college and also of Selly Oak special school, Birmingham.

Anthony John Patrick Vineall, lately chairman, School Teachers' Review Body.


Douglas Alexander Osler, HM senior chief inspector of education, Scottish Executive.


Alexander Dalgety Adamson, pupil standards division, Department for Education and Skills.

David Kenneth Cunningham, head, Hillhead High, Glasgow.

Jean Elizabeth Ensing, lately president, British Association of Early Childhood Education.

Francoise Mathilde Leake. head, Westborough high , Dewsbury, West Yorkshire.

Christine Anne Whatford, lately chief education officer, Hammersmith and Fulham, London.


Jacqueline Ann Beere, advanced skills teacher, Campion secondary, Bugbrooke, Northampton.

John Emanuel Bodie, for charitable services, especially to health and education, London.

Samuel Jeffrey Brown, rector, Moffat Academy, Dumfriesshire.

Jonathan Burnett, principal, Truro College, Cornwall.

Christina Conroy, principal, Richmond Adult and Community College, Surrey.

John Cousil, lately head, Dale Grove special school and head, Tameside EBD Service.

Joan Cowell, head, Cowbridge comp, Vale of Glamorgan, Neath.

Barbara Elizabeth Cross, head, Barton primary, Torquay, Devon.

Eleanor Jean Currie, lately director of education, East Renfrewshire.

William Duffy, principal, St Mary's, Kenmure,Glasgow.

Stephen Alexander Edwards, director, East Manchester education action zone.

Gillian Denise Garbutt, community education manager, Northern Ryedale District, Pickering, Yorkshire.

Norman Frederick Hoare, head, St George's secondary, Harpenden, Hertfordshire.

Patricia Jackson, manager, Birchwood access and training centre, Lincoln.

Francis Patrick Lennon, head, St Modan's high, Stirling.

David Shaw Moore, chief executive, Association for Science Education.

Iain Stanley Ovens. principal, Dundee College.

Christopher Peat,. acting assistant director of training, Leeds City Council.

Thelma Probert,. head, Golden Hillock secondary, Birmingham.

Christopher Bernard Anthony Reynolds. Head, St Benedict secondary, Derby.

Janina Dutkowski-Southworth, recruitment strategy manager, Lancashire County Council.

Margaret Edythe Stone, lately principal, Norham community technology college, N Tyneside.

Elizabeth Ruth Templar. head, Urchfont CE primary, Devizes Wiltshire.

Babette Thomas, chairman and chief executive, Network Training Ltd. For services to Lifelong Learning, Merthyr Tydfil, Mid Glamorgan Ivan Gordon Tucker,. principal, Mary Hare grammar , Newbury, Berkshire.

Peter John Westlake. head, West Thornton primary, Croydon, Surrey.

Norman Hamflett White, head, financial scrutiny unit, DFES.

David Wilkinson, head, Pennywell secondary, Sunderland.

Jacqueline Wilson, services to literacy in schools. Kingston-upon-Thames, Surrey.


Michael Charles Adams,. assistant site services manager, Newham College, London.

Josephine Adlard,. learning support assistant, St Martin's CE infants, Salisbury, Wiltshire.

William John Alden. services to vocational education and training, Bicester, Oxfordshire.

Joyce Beaumont, chair of governors, Bishop Rawstorne CE International Language College, Leyland, Lancashire.

David Bennett, RE teacher, Babington community technology college, Leicester.

Barbara Anne Blaney, special needs co-ordinator, Chalvedon school and sixth-form college, Basildon, Essex.

James Brian Bonsor, for services to teaching music, especially the recorder.

Carol Bowery, services to education for teenage mothers. Bath, Somerset.

Norma Jean Bull, school secretary, Godwin junior school, Newham, London.

Ruby Burns, services to pre-school education at Cardonald College, Glasgow.

Susan Elizabeth Cara, director for programmes and policy, National Institute of Adult Continuing Education, Norwich.

Paul Carter, Bulwell education action zone, Nottinghamshire.

Eustace James Clarke, multicultural education and youth project, Lewisham, London.

Ella Cole, lately governor, Eaglesfield Paddle CE primary, Cockermouth, Cumbria.

Pamela Mary Darwen, teacher, Chase Terrace high , Stafford, Staffordshire.

Niranjana Desai, services to education and the Asian community in Harrow, London.

Jacqueline Downer, services to people with learning disabilities in London.

Jacqueline Mary Elliott, governor, Holy Rood junior and infants, Watford, Hertfordshire.

Moira Rosalind Evans, lately head, Penrhiwceiber junior, Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff.

Sheila Ord Fabb, lately higher executive officer, DFES.

Isabella Farquar, school administrator, Woodside primary, Aberdeen.

Brian Greaves, governor, Glenburn sSchool and Skelmersdale College, Lancashire.

Nirmal Gupta, services to education and to the Hindu community in Southend-on-Sea, Essex.

Margaret Eileen Hanney, course director, Cardiff School of Education, University of Wales Institute, Cardiff.

Sharron Hardman, head, resource provision unit, Gorsefield county primary, Bury, Lancashire.

June Rose Hartshorn, school crossing patrol, Lanesfield primary , Wolverhampton.

Colin David Hawkins, administrative officer, DFES.

Matthew Hesmondhalgh, teacher of children with autistic disorders, King Ecgbert School, Sheffield.

Elizabeth Helen Higton, assistant head, Witchhill School, Kilmarnock.

Jenny Hood, head of careers, Caerleon comprehensive school, Newport.

Pamela Jay, nursery nurse, Victoria special school, Birmingham.

Joan May Jefferis, governor, Mason Moor primary, Southampton.

Doreen McCoy, finance officer, Eccles College, Manchester, services to FE.

Patricia Anne Macmaster, chair Somerset early-years development and childcare partnership.

Brian William Martin, senior master, Magdalen College School, Oxford.

Marie Martin, services to education, London.

Valerie Kay Moody, national education liaison officer, Showmen's Guild of Great Britain, services to the Education of Traveller Children.

Mary Mostyn, Ickburgh special school, Hackney, east London.

The Rev David Potter, services to people with learning disabilities in the UK, Reading, Berkshire.

John Maxwell Pryce, services to music education, New Barnet, Hertfordshire.

Margaret Reuben, lately lecturer, Falkirk College, Renfrewshire.

Jennifer Margaret Robertson, teacher, Petteril Bank primary, Carlisle, Cumbria.

Barbara Elizabeth Anne Robinson, community project manager, Blakeston community school, Stockton-on-Tees.

Lily Shaw, Holbrook CE primary, Belper, Derbyshire.

Robert Shepherd, services to bagpipe music and teaching, Fife.

Eric Norman Horace Shearly, services to the community, especially Queen Elizabeth's secondary, Barnet, Herts.

Kathleen Elizabeth Smith, honorary secretary, Workers' Educational Association, services to adult education in Southampton, Hampshire and Southern District.

Roger Gayford Smith, chair, Suffolk Education Business Partnership, services to Education and Business.

Anne Sterry, nursery nurse, Usk primary, Monmouthshire.

Mary Taylor, head, Ferguslie primary, Bridge of Weir, Renfrewshire.

Brenda Kathleen Tumber, pre-school adviser, Kent LEA.

Jeffrey Ray Williams, school sports tournament co-ordinator, Gwent Police.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you