Education's most inspirational take a bow - and a prize

Double win for Scotland at annual TES Schools Awards

The outstanding work of schools up and down the country was celebrated last week at the glittering TES Schools Awards. The awards, now in their sixth year, honour the achievements and dedication of teachers and schools in serving communities and helping pupils to gain academic and personal success.

This year's ceremony, hosted by Outnumbered star Hugh Dennis in central London, included awards for subjects, resources, ed tech, enterprise, and sport and healthy eating.

Bohunt School in Liphook, Hampshire, was named overall school of the year. The judges praised not only its commitment to achievement and innovation but also its work with other schools. Bohunt was also named secondary school of the year.

Neil Strowger, headteacher of Bohunt, said: "The recognition of the breadth of our educational offer is something we really value. I am incredibly proud of the efforts, innovation and commitment of our students and staff; they richly deserve this public recognition."

The Primary School of the Year Award went to St Mary's Church of England Primary in Manchester. The judges were full of admiration for the school - based in the heart of the deprived area of Moss Side - and its journey from the bottom of regional league tables to become one of the leading primaries in the city.

Headteacher Jenny McGarry said that the celebrations continued this week, with the trophy passed around in a whole-school assembly. "We made it clear to the pupils that the award was all about them," she said. "The award is not just about St Mary's - it will change how people feel about Moss Side. There are lots of brilliant things going on here."

The special needs school of the year was Longdon Hall School in Staffordshire. Just three years after opening, it has received widespread praise for engaging hard-to-reach pupils, including children with severe autism, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder.

A special award for services to education was made to Ann Maguire, who was killed in front of her pupils at Corpus Christi Catholic College in Leeds earlier this year. The award was presented to Ms Maguire's daughter Emma-Jane.

Mike Pye, a maths teacher whose 75 resources have been downloaded from the TES Connect website more than 250,000 times, was crowned resource contributor of the year. The award has been renamed in memory of Bev Evans, a prolific contributor to TES Connect who died earlier this year. Bev created more than 1,000 resources, which have been downloaded almost 5.2 million times around the world.

There were two Scottish winners. Queen Anne High School in Dunfermline, Fife, took the International Award for its links with schools in countries including Gambia, China, India, Iceland, Thailand and the US. Depute headteacher Peter Billington said: "Winning the International Award is fantastic; it recognises not only our partnerships around the world with many schools and many countries but also the work done by all the staff and all the pupils. They have embraced the global phenomenon."

Aileen Mullen, of Donaldson's School in Linlithgow, was named inspirational teacher of the year for her work teaching art to children who are deaf or have communication difficulties. "The impact of her work on her kids is clearly huge," the judges said.

Margaret Burnell, interim principal of Donaldson's, said: "Everyone at the school is delighted to congratulate Aileen on her success in winning this highly prestigious award. Her original ideas and creative ability inspire the children. There is no doubt that she deserves this recognition."

TES Schools Award winners

Services to education Ann Maguire

Overall 2014 school of the year Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Primary school of the year St Mary's Church of England Primary School, Manchester

Secondary school of the year Bohunt School, Liphook, Hampshire

Special needs school of the year Longdon Hall School, Longdon Green, Staffordshire

Inspirational teacher of the year Aileen Mullen, Donaldson's School, Linlithgow

Ed tech New Pasture Lane Primary School, Bridlington, East Yorkshire

International Queen Anne High School, Dunfermline, Fife

Science Sevenoaks School, Kent

Literacy and English Eastbury Comprehensive School, Barking, London

Bev Evans resource contributor of the year Mike Pye

Sport and healthy eating Pallister Park Primary School, Middlesbrough

Humanities Sir Robert Geffery's School, Saltash, Cornwall

Enterprise and community Treviglas Community College, Newquay, Cornwall

Numeracy and maths Ark Atwood Primary Academy, Westminster, London

Headteacher of the year Jayne Clarke, Ryecroft Primary Academy, Bradford

Lifetime achievement Howard Wood, Oathall Community College, West Sussex

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you