Helping the poorest to reach their potential

The finalists in the first Pupil Premium Awards are revealed

Schools that are leading the way in helping students from disadvantaged homes to reach their potential have been recognised in the shortlist for the inaugural Pupil Premium Awards.

The prestigious awards - run jointly by TES, deputy prime minister Nick Clegg and the Department for Education - offer cash prizes of up to #163;10,000 to schools in England that are making the best use of pupil premium money to improve the results of children from poor backgrounds.

The regional winners revealed below will be invited to a ceremony in London in July, where the overall winners - judged by an independent panel of educational experts - will be announced.

The pupil premium, a flagship policy of Mr Clegg's party, the Liberal Democrats, gives schools an extra #163;900 a year for each student who has received free school meals in the past six years.

"I introduced the pupil premium to provide extra help for schools in supporting their most disadvantaged pupils," Mr Clegg said. "It's clear from the quality of entries to the TES awards that schools are employing some really innovative approaches to using the money. It was a pleasure to write to the regional winners this week to let them know they have made it through to the final."

TES editor Gerard Kelly said that he had been "highly impressed" by the entrants. "We are delighted to be involved in this competition and to shine a light on the fantastic work schools are doing to close the attainment gap for children from some of the most deprived areas in the country," he said.

The winners are...

Deputy prime minister Nick Clegg will announce the winners of the Pupil Premium Awards at a ceremony at Admiralty House, London, on Monday 8 July.

Primary school of the year

East Midlands

Regional winner: Willowbrook Primary School, Leicester

Commended: Kirton Primary School, Boston, Lincolnshire

Commended: St Margaret's Church of England Primary School, Withern, Lincolnshire

East of England

Regional winner: Kingsway Infant School, Watford, Hertfordshire

Commended: St Lawrence Church of England Primary School, Colchester, Essex


Regional winner: Pakeman Primary School, Holloway, North London

Commended: Thames View Infants, Barking, Essex

Commended: Crawford Primary School, Southwark, South London

North East

Regional winner: Frederick Nattrass Primary School, Norton, Stockton-on-Tees

Commended: St Bede's Roman Catholic Primary and Nursery School, South Shields

Commended: Walbottle Village Primary School, Tyne and Wear

North West

Regional winner: St John's Catholic Primary School, Liverpool

Commended: St Mary and St Joseph's Roman Catholic Primary School, Blackburn, Lancashire

South East

Regional winner: Stanton School, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire

Commended: Brookfield Junior School, Aylesford, Kent

Commended: Halterworth Community Primary School, Romsey, Hampshire

South West

Regional winner: Widey Court Primary School, Plymouth, Devon

Commended: Park Junior School, Stonehouse, Gloucestershire

Commended: Christchurch Junior School, Dorset

West Midlands

Regional winner: Smith's Wood Community Primary School, Birmingham

Commended: St Joseph's Catholic Primary School, Birmingham

Commended: Lillington Nursery and Primary School, Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

Yorkshire and the Humber

Regional winner: New Pasture Lane Primary School, Bridlington

Commended: Ling Bob Junior, Infant and Nursery School, Halifax

Commended: Grange Lane Junior School, Scunthorpe

Secondary school of the year

East Midlands

Regional winner: Babington Community College, Leicester

Commended: Cordeaux Academy, Louth, Lincolnshire

East of England

Regional winner: Barnfield West Academy, Luton

Commended: Harrowden Middle School, Bedford


Regional winner: Westminster Academy, West London

Commended: Beaverwood School for Girls, Chislehurst, Kent

North East

Regional winner: Belmont Community School, Durham

North West

Regional winner: Millfield Science and Performing Arts College, Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire

Commended: The Heath School, Runcorn, Cheshire

South East

Regional winner: Baylis Court School, Slough, Buckinghamshire

Commended: Trinity School, Newbury, Berkshire

South West

Regional winner: Dawlish Community College, Devon

Commended: Oasis Academy John Williams, Bristol

West Midlands

Regional winner: Coundon Court, Coventry

Commended: Brownhills School, Walsall

Yorkshire and the Humber

Regional winner: Sirius Academy, Hull

Special needs school of the year*


Fred Nicholson School, Dereham, Norfolk

Longford Park School, Manchester

Adelaide School, Crewe, Cheshire

Hope School, Liverpool

Belmont School, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

Broadmeadow Special School, Wolverhampton

James Brindley School, Birmingham

* Not regional.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you