Skip to main content

Library Association book awards

The shortlists for the Library Association's children's book awards were announced last week. Authors nominated for the Carnegie Medal are Lynne Reid Banks for Broken Bridge (Hamish Hamilton); Theresa Breslin for Whispers in the Graveyard (Methuen); Berlie Doherty for Willa and Old Miss Annie (Walker Books); Lesley Howarth for Maphead (Walker Books); Michael Morpurgo for Arthur, High King of Britain (Pavilion); Jenny Nimmo for Griffin's Castle (Methuen); Robert Westall for A Time of Fire (Piper); and Jacqueline Wilson for The Bed and Breakfast Star (Yearling).

Illustrators shortlisted for the Greenaway Award are Caroline Binch for Gregory Cool (Frances Lincoln, illustrated left); Anthony Browne for King Kong (Julia MacRae); Paul Geraghty for The Hunter (Hutchinson); P J Lynch for Catkin (Walker Books); Helen Oxenbury for So Much (Walker Books); Jane Ray for The Happy Prince (Orchard); Chris Riddell for Something Else (Viking); and Gregory Rogers for Way Home (Andersen Press). The winners will be announced on July 12.

The Macmillan Prize, established in 1985 to stimulate new work from illustrators in art schools, was also announced last week. Joint second-prizes were awarded to Jane Simmons of Anglia Polytechnic and Andrew Rowland of Manchester Metropolitan University and third prize was awarded to Heidi V Lane of the University of Northumbria.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you