Skip to main content

Outstanding accolades

Two Scottish teachers are among five winners of UK awards for physics teaching.

The Institute of Physics identified Ronna Montgomery of Bearsden Academy as a leading practitioner of her subject. She has worked in the East Dunbartonshire school's physics department for about 25 years, and is renowned for making the subject exciting. Her head of department describes her as "an inspiration to students and to colleagues".

Fellow winner Michael McVey retired recently from his post as principal physics teacher at Lourdes Secondary in Glasgow. A former pupil said Mr McVey made the subject accessible with his "unique sense of humour and amiable personality", and "countless students were transformed through his inspirational teaching".

There is no set number of awards given out by the institute - only those marked out as "outstanding" by a panel of former and current teachers receive an accolade.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you