Skip to main content


Michael Bett CBE is resigning as chair of the Training and Enterprise Council National Council in a few months when he becomes First Civil Service Commissioner.

The University of Kent, Canterbury, is to confer the following honorary degrees at its July awards ceremony: Ralph Steadman, cartoonist, illustrator and writer (Doctorate of Letters); Helen Sharman, scientist and astronaut (Doctorate of Science); Trevor Pinnock, harpsichordist, conductor and director of The English Concert (Doctorate of Music); Sir John Swire, deputy pro-chancellor of the University (Doctorate of Civil Law); Sir John Cornforth FRS, director of Shell research, 1962-72, and 1975 Nobel prizewinner (Doctorate of Science); and Wallace Harvey, founder and president of the Whitstable Museum and Historical Society (Master of Arts).

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you