Skip to main content


Rosalind Driver, professor of science education and director of the Children's Learning in Science Research Group at Leeds University, has been appointed chair of science education at King's College London.

Baroness Perry of Southwark, president of Lucy Cavendish College, Cambridge, and the former vice-chancellor of South Bank University, has been awarded an honorary degree by the Roehampton Institute.

Sir Aaron Klug, director of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, is to take over from Sir Michael Atiyah as president of the Royal Society in December for a period of five years.

Eric Ashton, retired principal of Newark and Sherwood College, Nottinghamshire, has been awarded a PhD by Loughborough University of Technology after six years of research into how further education colleges have coped with the technological, social, economic and political changes of the past decade.

Michael Paske, managing director of Michael Paske Farms, has taken over from Elizabeth Purdey as chairman of governors of Taverham Hall School, Norwich, Norfolk. He is a former pupil of the school.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you