Skip to main content


Patrick Tobin, principal of Stewart's Melville College and of the Mary Erskine school, Edinburgh, is the new chair of the Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference, only the second head of a Scottish school to hold the post in HMC's 128-year history.

Jackie Anderson, head of King's High School for Girls, Warwick, is the new president of the Girls' Schools Association, representing independent girls' schools.

David Crawford, head of Colston's Collegiate, Bristol, is the new chair of the Society of Headmasters and Headmistresses of Independent Schools.

Dr Brigitte Boyce, formerly of Liverpool University, has been appointed director of the Association for Language Learning (tel: 01788 546443).

Stephanie Kershaw, formerly head of York College for Girls, is now head of St James's and The Abbey School, West Malvern, Worcestershire.

Joanne Rule, formerly director of external affairs, Royal College of Nursing, is the new chief executive of the British Dyslexia Association.

Claire Drew, systems engineering manager with GEC Marconi Avionics, Rochester, Kent, has become the 20th Young Woman Engineer of the Year. The award is jointly sponsored by The Institution of Electronics and Electrical Incorporated Engineers and the Caroline Haslett Memorial Trust.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you