Caroline Graham-Brown, formerly chief executive at St Martin in the Fields, has been appointed to the new post of operations director at the Royal Institution of Great Britain. She aims to extend the popular young people's science programme into the regions and introduce special events for parents.

Sir Aaron Klug, formerly director of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, has been appointed as president of The Royal Society.

Rachel Atkinson, a governor at Milton Primary School, Oxfordshire, and a former teacher, is now schools liaison officer at Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, near Chilton, Oxfordshire, which is part of the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils.

The Institution of Electrical Engineers has presented national awards to the following teachers for their work in science and technology: Roger Crabtree, the George Ward Secondary School, Melksham, Wiltshire; Jillian Oliver, Lunsford County Primary School, Kent; Graham Swindley, Borden Grammar School, Sittingbourne, Kent; Brian Dziennik, Kingussie High School, Scotland; Kathleen Hill, Peebles High School, Scotland; John Furneaux, Ysgol-Y-Castell, North Wales; Penny Curran, Garlinge Junior School, Margate, Kent; David Hesketh, Ysgol Brynhyfryd, North Wales; Mary Rodgers, Turves Green Girls School, Birmingham; Brian Smith, Greenhead Grammar School, Keighley, North Yorkshire; Stephen Woolley, Bancroft School, Essex; and Paul Bird, Hellesdon High School, Norwich.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you