Skip to main content


Roy Jobson, chief education officer for Manchester, is to be chair of the newly-formed Association of Chief Education Officers.

Andrew Daykin, chief education officer for Berkshire, has been appointed director of education and community services for the new Reading unitary authority which becomes operational on April 1, 1998.

Dr James McElligott, scheme co-ordinator in the curriculum and assessment team at Lancashire, is to be head of professional and organisational development for the Cambridgeshire Advisory Service from September 1.

Dr Ian Rees, formerly head of Ysgol y Moelwyn, Blaenau Ffestiniog, is to be principal of Coleg Meirion-Dwyfor, Gwynedd, replacing Dennis MacAteer.

Richard Osmond, secretary of the Post Office, will become director of the Confederation of British Industry Education Foundation and of Understanding British Industry in October.He succeeds John Brodie, who is retiring.

Gill Edelman, formerly strategic project manager at Northwick Park and St Marks' National Health Service Trust, Harrow, has been appointed chief executive for the I CAN charity, provider of educational services and support for children with speech and language difficulties.

Professor David Phillips of Imperial College, London, is the winner of the 1997 Royal Society Michael Faraday Award, made annually to the scientist who has done most to further public under-standing of science in the UK. As Wolfson professor at the Royal Institution he initiated a science seminar programme for talented 13-year-olds and a lecture series for primary schools.

Log in or register for FREE to continue reading.

It only takes a moment and you'll get access to more news, plus courses, jobs and teaching resources tailored to you